RSS Feed

Like a Girl….

You run like a girl

You throw like a girl

You fight like a girl

What does this truly mean? Most of us have been raised our whole lives in an environment where this phrase “like a girl” as a negative connotation. It is thought to be an insult. Why?! Are girls not strong? Are girls not capable of great things?
I don’t mean to go on a feminist tirade, but this video moved me. Seriously.
I’ve written about it before and am one to revisit this fact: your words matter.
Your words can impact someone’s life. Your words can make a difference.
Have you ever really thought about this phrase “like a girl” or even just your own words?
Think about those words impacting young kids…because the fact is that is where we use the phrase. That is where the phrase catches fire and affects young impressionable girls. Kids hear adults say it and copy-cat it. They repeat it over and over to each other whether intentionally being mean or joking. It is a phrase consistently passed down from generation to generation with this negative undertone. Let’s stop it.

One girls in the video asks ” Why can’t run like a girl also mean win the race?”

So why not?

Your words can make a difference. You can make a difference. Make the choice to watch what you say. Attempt to positively impact lives. Use “like a girl” as a compliment not an insult.

-Steph 🙂

I’d like to point out one girl’s response in the video because I really love it:

“If someone else says that running like a girl, kicking like a girl, or shooting like a girl is something that you shouldn’t be doing, that’s their problem. Because if you’re still scoring, and you’re still getting to the ball in time, and you’re still being first, you’re doing it right. It doesn’t matter what they say. I mean, yes! I kick like a girl, and I swim like a girl, and I walk like a girl, and I wake up in the morning like a girl…Because I am a girl. And that is not something I should be ashamed of, so I am going to do it anyways.”

Leave a Reply

