RSS Feed

Sometimes You Just Have to Breathe

just breathe

Fact: I’m a busy person.

Sometimes I can get overwhelmed; it happens. However, sometimes it just takes a moment to calm down. Sometimes it just takes some breathing.

I’m starting to realize how important breathing is. Basic concept right? But how often do you Β think about it really? Here are two situations that point out how important breathing is.

1. This summer I started working with a friend to get fit. He is a football player who is nice enough to be my trainer and get me into shape. I’m calling him coach πŸ™‚ Every week, I go through a four day workout plan, and I admit, it really pushes me. It’s great though; I’m really loving the challenge. Anyways, something coach keeps repeating and trying to drill into me is just to breathe. “Remember to breathe.” “You gotta breathe.” “Better be breathing.” I admit, breathing really isn’t my forte. I tend to just push or rush through my workouts and forget to breathe properly. As we progress through this workout plan, I’m really starting to feel it. He reminds me that breath is life, and my muscles need it.

2. In Theatre, during warm-ups and exercises, my professors point out the importance of breathing. What is essential for life? Air. We need to breathe to live. Therefore, most exercises we need to be aware of our breathing. Breathing helps with pacing, focusing, and support.

Image

Applying that to now: I’m drowning in homework and responsibilities. The fact that it is summer time and there are a ton of distractions just makes it worse. Breathing really isn’t a conscious thing until you realize you’ve been holding your breath or you’re out of breathe. Life and our attitudes can just as easily overwhelm us suddenly like realizing one is out of breath and finally being aware to breathe.Β It is easy to stress myself out…however, I think of breathing as an attitude or mindset also. I try to be conscious of the situation before it because an issue. Whenever I know I’m going to stress myself out, I remind myself to just breathe and try to be positive about the situation. I can get through this; this situation will pass. My homework will get done, and my life will go on. I’ve done it before. I’ve got this.

Positivity, determination, pacing, and just breathing. It is that time when I take a moment to just breathe and get refocused, re-energized, and re-positive that I know everything is going to be ok.

That is just my recent thoughts on the importance of breathing. Basic but true.

-Stephanie

One response »

  1. Reblogged this on steph4themoon and commented:

    Throw Back Thursday…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

